View or edit an incident postmortem

A postmortem helps you develop a culture of improvement, where you identify what happened, how it happened, and action items to prevent it from happening again.

Before you begin

When an incident is opened, Incident Response automatically creates a Postmortem tab with the following default postmortem sections:
  • Executive Summary: Contains non-editable incident header row and instructional text for adding your summary.
  • Customer Service/Impact: Contains instructional text for adding the impact to the customer.
  • Incident timeline: Contains all uneditable field changes made by the system.
  • Default summary: Contains instruction text for detailing what when wrong.
  • Action items: Contains instruction text for adding outstanding action item to prevent this issue from happening again.

Role required:

For editing: Responder, manager, administrator

For viewing: Responder, manager, administrator, stakeholder

Procedure

  1. Navigate to Incidents.
  2. Open the incident you want to review.
  3. Select the Postmortem tab.
    Note: Use the first Incident screen icon icon at the bottom of the screen to display: the postmortem form in full screen. If the Collaboration panel contains responders, that panel remains open in full-screen. You can close the Collarboration panel using the collaboration icon Collaboration icon.
  4. Select a Postmortem owner from the list menu.
    Note:

    If a Scribe has already been chosen in the Collaboration panel Responders list, they are automatically made the owner and an email notification is sent. Postmortem owner

    If there is more than one scribe then the first one assigned is chosen.

    If a new scribe is added or an existing user persona is changed to Scribe, that user is made the owner.

    If you manually remove an owner, no new owner is automatically selected.

    The postmortem has three actions from the Publish list:
    • Publish: The postmortem is saved as read-only on the incident but updated for changes to executive summary header. Any incident in the Resolved state is moved to Closed. No other states are affected.
    • Save as PDF: Create a PDF and download it.
      Note: You can choose to exclude sections from the PDF from the More actions menu in each section.
    • Copy the link: Saves the link to your clipboard, so that you can share it with authenticated users.
      Note: Selecting the link takes the recipient to the Incident Response login page. Once logged in, they are taken to the Postmortem tab on the incident.
    • Reopen: [Visible when the postmortem is in the Published state.] Reopens the postmortem in an editable state.
    Each section of the postmortem has three actions from the More actions menu:
    • Edit: Allows you to begin editing.
      Note:

      Once you start editing, that section is locked. Changes made to other sections, by others, will not be reflected until you select Save or Cancel.

      If no updates are made for 30 minutes, the section is unlocked and the content in that section is saved.

    • Exclude from PDF: Excludes the section from the PDF when you Save as PDF.
    • Delete: Removes the section from the postmortem.
      Note: Once you delete a section, you can add a new one, but whatever data was in the original cannot be recovered.
  5. Select Edit from the More actions menu in the section you want to work in.
    Edit postmortem section example
    Note: Use the first icon in the footer of the page to expand the editing window.
    1. Edit or replace the section Title, if appropriate.
    2. Replace the sample text in the section body with your own data. You can use text, or HTML, and add images.

      Comments are automatically addded to the Timeline as well as, changes in Priority, State, and Assignment team.

    3. Select Save.
      Note:

      Cancel abandons the edit and reverts the section to the read-only view containing the original content.

      If no updates are made for 30 minutes, the section is unlocked and the content in that section is saved.

  6. Optional: Add a section by selecting the plus icon Alt text for icon-add.png between the sections.
    New sections open in edit mode, by default.
    1. Add your content.
    2. Select Save to save the section. Cancel cancels the Add section process.
  7. Optional: Reorder the sections using drag and drop.
    Note:

    Only sections in read-only mode can be reordered.

    1. Select the drag-and-drop icon Drag and drop icon to move the section.
    2. Drag the section where you want it to go.
    3. Release it to save to the new location.
  8. Select Publish to save your work.
    Publish postmortem
    Note:

    When you're ready to publish, consider contacting your team to see if anyone is editing. If they are, and you continue, their edits are saved once they are done, and your published postmortem is updated.

    Once the postmortem is published you can Copy the link or Save as PDF from the modal. Postmortem publication options
    • Copy the link: Saves the link to your clipboard, so you can share it with authenticated users.
      Note: Selecting the link takes the recipient to the Incident Response login page. Once logged in, they are taken to the Postmortem tab on the incident.
    • Save as PDF: Downloads the postmortem to your local drive.
      Note: Downloaded PDFs do not support images at this time.

    The postmortem is saved as read-only on the incident but updated for changes to executive summary header. Any incident in the Resolved state is moved to Closed. No other states are affected.

    Published postmortems are now available in the Incident list view under Filters.

    When an incident is in the Resolve or Close state, this tab is the default view when the incident is opened.

  9. Optional: Re-open the postmortem.
    Reopen postmortem
    Reopens the postmortem in an editable state.