User roles and responsibilities in Incident Response

With user roles, you can grant users access to different sections of the Incident Response application.

Incident Response has the following pre-defined roles:
Roles Responsibilities
Administrator

Administrators have account ownership. They are the first user to sign up for a domain, and are the billing owners. There can be multiple users with the administrator role.

Administrators can perform the following actions:
  • Manage billing and subscriptions.
  • Set, edit, and delete configurations.
  • Define and change user roles.
  • Set up users, teams, services, and integrations.
  • Set up integrations.
  • Invite other users such as stakeholders, responders, managers, and other administrators.
  • Set up account settings such as granting the account owner to another user.
Manager

Managers oversee a team of responders. Managers assign responders to the team on-call schedule and escalation policies. Managers ensure resilience across all the systems and the DevOps workflows.

Managers can perform the following actions:
  • Manage their own profile.
  • Set up teams, services, and integrations.
  • Invite other users such as stakeholders, responders, and managers.
  • Invite or add users for the teams they are a part of.
  • Manage billing and subscriptions.
Responder

Responders are the individuals who are on call. They diagnose and remediate alerts and incidents.

Responders can perform the following actions:
  • Manage their profiles.
  • Set up services, teams, and integrations.
  • Update or delete teams that they have created.
  • Invite or add users for the teams they are a part of.
  • Update or delete any services or integrations.
  • Invite other users such as stakeholders and responders.
  • Manage billing and subscriptions.
Stakeholder

Stakeholders are read-only users. They cannot create or modify any operational data. They cannot be a part of a team, escalation, or schedule.

Stakeholders can perform the following actions:
  • Manage their own profiles.
  • View all operational data such as users, teams, on-call shifts, escalation policies, and incidents.
  • Invite other stakeholders.
  • Manage billing and subscriptions.

User roles reference list

Functionality Administrator Manager Responder Stakeholder
Sections
Home Page Yes Yes Yes Yes
View Alerts List Yes Yes Yes No
Update incident or alert Yes Yes Yes Read-only for alerts and incidents. Can do the following:
  • Subscribe or unsubscribe only themselves to an incident
  • Add comments in the incident
  • Invite another stakeholder but not unsubscribe them
View Incident List Yes Yes Yes Yes
Delete Incident Yes No. Can only close incidents. No. Can only close incidents. No
Create Incident Yes Yes Yes No
Promote Alerts to Incidents Yes, on any alert and any service. Yes, on any alert associated to a team they are part of. Yes, on any alert associated to a team they are part of. No
Home page View Yes. Can view the following:
  • Alerts list (alerts that are assigned to the user or where the user is a part of the responder list)
  • Incident list (incidents that are assigned to the user or where the user is a part of the responder list)
  • Degraded services
  • My teams
  • Organization-wide P1 incidents
Note: If no incidents are found then an option is provided to create new incident.
Yes. Can view the following:
  • Alerts list (alerts that are assigned to the user or where the user is a part of the responder list)
  • Incident list (incidents that are assigned to the user or where the user is a part of the responder list)
  • Degraded services
  • My teams
  • Organization-wide P1 incidents
Note: If no incidents are found then an option is provided to create new incident.
Yes. Can view the following:
  • Alerts list (alerts that are assigned to the user or where the user is a part of the responder list)
  • Incident list (incidents that are assigned to the user or where the user is a part of the responder list)
  • Degraded services
  • My teams
  • Organization-wide P1 incidents
Note: If no incidents are found then an option is provided to create new incident.
Yes. Can view the following:
  • Service name
  • Status
  • On-call team
  • Owner
  • Incident list (the ones where user is a part of the stakeholder list)
  • Organization-wide P1 incidents

A user with the stakeholder role cannot view Alerts list and My teams.

Teams
View Teams Yes Yes Yes Yes
Create Teams Yes Yes Yes No
Manage Team Yes. Can manage any team. Yes, only on the teams they created or are assigned as the manager. Yes, only on the teams they created. No
Teams On-Call Yes, on any team. Yes, only on the teams they created or are assigned as the manager. Yes, only on the teams they created. No
Escalation Yes, on any team. Yes, only on the teams they created or are assigned as the manager. Yes, only on the teams they created. No
Invite Team members (not stakeholders) Yes, on any team. Yes, for the teams they created or for the teams they are a part of. Yes, for the teams they created or for the teams they are a part of. No
Delete Team Yes, on any team. Yes, only on the teams they created or are assigned as the manager. Yes, only on the teams they created. No
User Profiles
User profile - Edit Yes Yes Yes Yes
Profile Info - Other user Yes Can only view. Can only view. Can only view.
Notification preference - Other us Yes, can view the notification preferences of other users. No access to view the notification preferences of other users. No access to view the notification preferences of other users. No access to view the notification preferences of other users.
Time off - Other user Yes Yes, access to view, read, and set time-off for their team members. Yes to read. No to make any changes. Yes to read. No to make any changes.
Settings - Other user Yes No No No
Change User Role Yes, access to change the role of any user. No No No
Invite New Users to Incident Response Yes Yes, user with the manager role or below. Yes, user with the responder role or below. Yes, user with the stakeholder role.
Deactivate User Yes No No No
Delete/Remove User Yes No No No
Services
Create Services Yes Yes Yes No
Create Integrations Yes, on all services. Yes, on all services. Yes, on all services. No
View all activated services Yes, on all activated services. Yes, on all activated services. Yes, on all activated services. Yes. Can view all activated services with minimal information — Service name and on-call team.
View my team's activated services Yes, on all activated services assigned to the teams they are part of. Yes, on all activated services assigned to the teams they are part of. Yes, on all activated services assigned to the teams they are part of. No
Modify Services Yes, on all integrations except on deactivated services. Yes, on all integrations except on deactivated services. Yes, on all integrations except on deactivated services. No
View Integrations Yes, can view all integrations. Yes, can view all integrations. Yes, can view all integrations. No
Modify Integrations Yes, on all integrations. Yes, on all integrations. Yes, on all integrations. No
Delete Services Yes, on all services. Yes, on all services. Yes, on all services. No
Delete Integrations Yes, on all integrations. Yes, on all integrations. Yes, on all integrations. No