Delete a user

Delete a user profile who left your organization and no longer needs access to your Incident Response services.

Before you begin

Role required: Administrator

About this task

You’re prevented from deletiing a user if the user is in the following situations:
  • is a part of any team
  • is the service owner of any service
  • is a part of any escalation level or response rule
  • has any alerts assigned to them or they are in the responder list for any alert
  • has any incidents assigned to them or they are in the responder list for any incident
Before you delete a user, you must manually delete them from teams, alerts, incidents, escalation policies, response rules, and schedules. The reason why a user is not automatically deleted from any escalation or schedule is to ensure that there is someone designated to replace the deleted user.

Procedure

  1. Log in to Lightstep Incident Response.
  2. On the navigation pane, select Users.
    Figure 1. Users landing page
    The Users landing page to search for a user, view detailed information of a user and to invite a user.
  3. On the content area, click the user card of the user whose information you want to modify.
    You are directed to the profile page of the user.
    Profile page of the user where you can update details.
  4. Click the Settings tab.
    The Settings page.
  5. In the Other settings section, click Edit.
    The Other settings window.
    Note: To delete a user, first you must deactivate the user.
  6. To deactivate a user, disable the Active field using the toggle switch control ( The toggle switch control.).
    Note: Purple indicates that the field is enabled.
    In this case, the user is associated with a team. You must remove the user from the team to remove the user from the system.
    Note: In this case, the user is associated with multiple teams. You must manually delete the user from all the teams.
  7. Click each team name and manually delete the user from the associated team.
  8. Click Save.
    The user is deactivated and the Delete user button appears.
    As the user is now deactivated the Delete user button appears.
  9. Click Delete user.
  10. On the confirmation dialog box, click Confirm.
    The user is deleted from the user list.
    Note: You cannot permanently delete users. The system preserves all historical activity and records of the user.

    When you delete an existing user from the system and then re-invite the user again, the user first needs to reset the password using the link provided in the welcome email.