Use cases - On-call notifications

On-call notifications are sent to users based on different use cases.

On-call shift member notifications

Suppose a team has a manager and team members. The following table illustrates which member receives notifications on different scenarios.
Note: If the logged in user performs any operation on the shift, they do not get any notification as they are already aware of the changes. Example, if a manager logs in and adds a member to a shift, they do not get notification for the same.
Scenarios Users who are notified
Incomplete team setup No notification is sent to anyone.
Note: While creating a team, when the user clicks the Complete setup on the Services page, notification is sent to the following members for all shifts created during the setup:
  • Manager of the team
  • Primary shift members
  • Backup shift members
When a shift is created Notification is sent to:
  • Manager of the team
  • Team members added as primary for the shift
  • Team members added as backup for the shift
Note: Users get notification only after saving the shift details.

The start time mentioned in the shift details is the latest updated time that the user entered while creating the shift and it follows the schedule’s time zone even if some time zones observe Daylight Saving Time (DST). To know the impact of DST on your schedule, see Daylight saving time.

When a shift is edited When any member is removed from the shift, notification is sent to:
  • Manager of the team
  • Primary shift member who is being removed
  • Backup shift members who is being removed
When any member is added from the shift, notification is sent to:
  • Manager of the team
  • Primary shift member who is being added
  • Backup shift members who is being added
Note: Users get notification only if there is atleast one member added or removed from the shift and if the shift details are saved. No notification is generated if the members are just reordered within a shift.

The start time mentioned in the shift details is the latest updated time that the user entered while editing the shift and it follows the schedule’s time zone even if some time zones observe Daylight Saving Time (DST). To know the impact of DST on your schedule, see Daylight saving time.

When a shift is deleted When any shift is deleted, notification is sent to:
  • Manager of the team
    Note: Manager receives two notifications - one with primary member details and another with backup member details who were there in the shift.
  • Primary shift members of the shift
  • Backup shift members of the shift

On-call shift coverage notifications

Suppose there is a manager, a primary member, and a coverage for a shift. The following table illustrates which member receives the notification.
Note: If the logged in user changes the coverage, they do not get any notification as they are already aware of the changes. Example, if the primary member of a shift logs in and adds a coverage, they do not get notification for the same.
Scenarios Users who are notified
When a coverage is added
  • Manager of the team
  • Primary shift member for whom the coverage is added
  • Coverage who is being added
When a coverage is removed
  • Manager of the team
  • Primary shift member whose coverage is removed
  • Coverage who is being removed
When the coverage details are edited Notification for the removal of the current coverage is sent to the following members:
  • Manager of the team
  • Primary shift member whose coverage is being replaced
  • Coverage who is currently on the shift
Notification for the addition of the new coverage is sent to the following members:
  • Manager of the team
  • Primary shift member for whom the new coverage is added
  • Coverage who is currently on the shift
When a coverage is replaced with a new coverage Notification for the removal of the current coverage is sent to the following members:
  • Manager of the team
  • Primary shift member whose coverage is being replaced
  • Coverage who is being replaced
Notification for the addition of the new coverage is sent to the following members:
  • Manager of the team
  • Primary shift member for whom the new coverage is added
  • Coverage who is being added