Daylight saving time
If your account has users in different time zones, there are a few things to keep in mind with respect to how Daylight Saving Time (DST) may impact your schedules.
- A schedule will default to the account-level time zone. You can, however, change the schedule's time zone if you do not wish for it to match the account’s time zone.
- Users who are not in the same time zone as the schedule will still view it in their own time zone. For example, if a schedule is configured in USA EST and it is 9:00 a.m., but user A has set their account to USA PST, A's view of the schedule will reflect 6:00 a.m.
- In the case of DST discrepancies between users’ and schedules’ time zones (the user’s time
zone observes DST but the schedule’s does not, for example, and vice versa), the above details
still apply. Users in this situation should take note of the following and the potential impact
to their schedules:
- Example 1: If a schedule is set to USA EST (observing DST) at 2:00, but user B has their account set to UTC (not observing DST) at 7:00, when DST begins in the schedule's time zone, B's view of their schedule will advance to 8:00, but the clock will remain at 7:00.
- Example 2: If a schedule is set to UTC (not observing DST) at 7:00 and user C's account is set to US EST at 2:00, when DST begins in C's time zone, their clock will advance to 3:00, but the view of the schedule will remain at 2:00.
Note: When creating or editing schedules with users in multiple time zones, we recommend taking note of the schedule’s time zone and communicating it to any users who may be affected by the observance or non-observance of DST.