Create or edit notification preference

Control what notifications you want to receive. Choose how you want to receive them.

Before you begin

Role required: Stakeholder, Responder, Manager, or Administrator

About this task

Note: Any user can create, edit, or view their own notification settings. Only an administrator can view notification settings of other users, but administrators cannot edit any settings.

Procedure

  1. Log in to Lightstep Incident Response.
  2. Select the profile icon ( The Profile icon) and then select My profile.
    The Profile landing page from where you can easily create or update your profile information.
  3. Select the Notifications tab.
    The page displays all the types of notifications available and all the channels on which you can receive the notifications. Each notification category is displayed as a list with an expandable sub-category.
    Your preferred contact method for each notification type.
  4. For each notification category, select how you want to receive the notification, such as through email, phone, or Slack.
    Note: These channels are synchronized with the contact methods that you have specified under the Info tab. Email is the default notification channel. The Lightstep Incident Response appears only when you are logged in to your Lightstep Incident Response mobile app. To see the Slack option, you need to authorize Slack.
  5. For each notification category, click See all and enable or disable its notification sub-categories using the slider (The slider control.).
    Notification subcategories.
    Note: Purple indicates that the notification is enabled. By default, all the notifications are enabled.
    On-call notifications are sent only when the team setup is complete. Currently, on-call notifications are sent through emails. Under the on-call notifications subcategory, you can enable or disable the following types of notifications:
    Table 1. On-call notifications
    Notifications Description
    Backup added for a team I manage User, who is also the manager of a team, gets notified when a backup is added to a shift.
    Backup removed for a team I manage User, who is also the manager of a team, gets notified when a backup is removed from a shift.
    Coverage added for a team I manage User, who is also the manager of a team, gets notified when a coverage is added to a shift.
    Coverage added for my shift User gets notified when a coverage is added to their shift.
    Coverage removed for a team I manage User, who is also the manager of a team, gets notified when a coverage is removed from a shift.
    Coverage removed for my shift User gets notified when a coverage is removed from their shift.
    I am added as a backup User gets notified when they are added as a backup for a shift.
    I am added as a coverage User gets notified when they are added as a coverage for a shift.
    I am added as a primary User gets notified when they are added as a primary member for a shift.
    I am removed as a backup User gets notified when they are removed as a backup from a shift.
    I am removed as a coverage User gets notified when they are removed as a coverage from a shift.
    I am removed as a primary User gets notified when they are removed as a primary member for a shift.
    On-call shift reminder 1 hour before shift For an upcoming on-call shift, user gets notified around 1 hour prior to the shift.

    For example, if your upcoming shift is at 10am and you have selected the option to be notified 1 hour before the shift, then you will get a notification anytime between 8am to 9am.

    On-call shift reminder 24 hours before shift For an upcoming on-call shift, user gets notified around 24 hours prior to the shift.

    For example, if your upcoming shift is at 10am on Monday and you have selected the option to be notified 24 hours before the shift, then you will get a notification anytime between 9am to 10am on Sunday that precedes Monday.

    On-call shift reminder 7 days before shift For an upcoming on-call shift, user gets notified around 7 days prior to the shift.

    For example, if your upcoming shift is at 10am on 14th March and you have selected the option to be notified 7 days before the shift, then you will get a notification anytime between 9am to 10am on 7th March.

    Primary added for a team I manage User, who is also the manager of a team, gets notified when a primary is added to a shift.
    Primary removed for a team I manage User, who is also the manager of a team, gets notified when a primary is removed from a shift.
    When a shift is 24/7 coverage and the rotation is weekly or any no of weeks, notifications are sent at the start of the rotation instead of start of a shift every day.
    Note: User providing coverage will also get the notification along with the primary and backup members even if the user's coverage time is later in the shift.

    For on-call shifts at the same escalation level, notification is sent only once to any user and no duplicate notifications are sent. For example, if both the primary and backup member for a shift are the same user, an escalation notification is sent to the user only once even if the policy is set to send it to both primary and backup members at the same escalation level.

    For information on who gets notified for on-call shifts and coverages, see On-call notifications. To know the impact of Daylight Saving Time (DST) on your schedule, see Daylight saving time.