Activate or deactivate a user

Activate or deactivate a user when required, like when a user changes teams in your organization.

Before you begin

Role required: Administrator

About this task

You can deactivate a user, but you can’t deactivate them outright. You’re prevented from deactivating a user if the user is in the following situations:
  • is a part of any team
  • is the service owner of any service
  • is a part of any escalation level or response rule
  • has any open alerts assigned to them or they are in the responder list for any alert
  • has any open incidents assigned to them or they are in the responder list for any incident
Before you deactivate a user, you must manually remove them from teams, alerts, incidents, escalation policies, response rules, and schedules. The reason why a user is not automatically removed from any escalation or schedule is to ensure that there is someone designated to replace the user whose account you are deactivating.
Note: An administrator can deactivate the account of another user but cannot deactivate their own account.

Procedure

  1. Log in to Incident Response.
  2. On the navigation pane, click Users.
    Figure 1. Users landing page
    The Users landing page to search for a user, view detailed information of a user and to invite a user.
  3. On the content area, click the user card of the user whose account you want to deactivate.
    You are directed to the profile page of the user.
    Profile page of the user where you can update details
  4. Click the Settings tab.
    The Settings page.
  5. In the Other settings section, click Edit.
    The Other settings details.
  6. To activate or deactivate a user, enable or disable the Active field using the slider ( The slider control.).
    Note:
    • Purple indicates that the field is enabled.
    • The Locked out field appears only to an administrator. To restrict a user from logging in to Incident Response, enable the Locked out field. Multiple failed attempts to log in to Incident Response can also result in the lock out of the account. In that scenario, you can provide access to the user by enabling the Locked out field.
  7. Click Save.
    Deactivated users are filtered out from the list of users. Deactivating a user prevents access but preserves all historical activity and records.